Home  .  Contact us   .  Francais








History and background


The Rotary movement arrived in the sub region of West Africa for the first time in Senegal, French-speaking countries in 1939. Dean Club, Rotary Club of Dakar was therefore created July 10, 1939. Subsequently, the Rotary has gradually expanded over the Ivory Coast, Cameroon to enter the first English speaking country, Ghana, in 1958. Rotary has been introduced, in quick succession, Mali, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Niger and Togo, so that in 1968 twelve countries had married Rotary. The first convention Rotarian of West Africa held in Accra from 21 to 23 March 1968. Between the years 1968-1969 and 1972-1973 Rotary, Rotary International has designated coordinators responsible for the administration or consultants to monitor emerging clubs in twelve countries. Meanwhile, the convention has become an annual event until the fifth Rotarian Convention of West Africa to take place, even in Accra from 9 to 12 March 1972. As was the decisive moment in the history of Rotary in West Africa. RI President. Ernest G. Breitholts and his wife attended the meeting. The number of clubs had increased from twelve in 1968 to thirty-three in 1972. The RI had decided to create a district for the Clubs in the subregion. THE new situation required the appointment by election, the first District Governor, François Amorin, it took until the appointment of the first District Governor, it is still declared elected District Governor on the occasion of Assembly and Conference of the District. So therefore the first Assembly and Conference of District 210 was held in Togo, French-speaking country in the city of Lomé in April 1973. During this memorable meeting, François Amorin said was the first elected Governor of the District. In the Rotary year 1977-1978, District 210 has been designated a new District 910. Meanwhile, other countries became members of the District, this is Chad, Gambia, Mauritania and Guinea. Towards the end of the Rotary year 1981-1982, the growth of Rotary in Nigeria in particular, was so phenomenal that the IR has decided to create another district for Nigeria, which led to the creation of four pars Districts the following, namely District 911, District 912, District 913 and District 914. Around the same period in 1982, three other countries Cameroon, Chad and Mauritania have been annexed to other districts. Therefore, District 910 has lost four countries in 1982, but Burkina Faso joined Rotary in 1985 to become a member of District 910. By adding a zero to all existing Districts across the world in the Rotary year 1991-1992, the RR was changed to become District 910 District 9100. Subsequently, in 1992 the RI added two Lusophone countries, namely Cape Verde (Rotary Club Praia) and Guinea-Bissau (Rotary Club of Bissau) in District 9100. Hence with a total of fourteen countries, the District 9100 is recognized as the largest district in the world of Rotary District characterized by three languages: French, English and Portuguese. In mid-February of the current year 2006-2007, the District consisted of a total of 2525 Rotarians in 93 clubs. It should be noted that District 9100 has produced three members of the Central Council of RI - Fire Tommy Hope-Sierra Leone, President of RI 2003-2004, Jonathan Majiagbe, which was the 8th Governor of District 9100 ( 1980-1981), although it belongs to District 9120 in Nigeria since 1982, and Sam Okudzeto of Ghana.




Rotary International   .   Countries and Clubs   .  History and Background    .  Governors and committies

Theme of the Year   .   News and Events   .   Ditrict Governor 2010-2011   .  Contact us   .   Home